Nothing’s Playlist: Dry Season

Post-whatever-you-wanna-call-it band Nothing have been carving their modern shoegaze sound out of their heavy music roots for years with an aim to uncover some deep-seated hardships in a shimmering, melodic light. And on their new album Dance on the Blacktop, (out August 24) the full realization of how to marry their struggles with blustering music that pulls you up by your bootstraps has been fully achieved. Tracks like album opener “Zero Day” and lead single “Blue Line Baby” reminisce the 90s with buzzing guitars, chugging rhythms and solemn vocals — but with a jaded, yet hopeful view that’s all 2018.

While out on the road in anticipation of the album’s release, we caught up with frontman Domenic Palermo who made us a playlist for the summer’s dry season. Or, as Palermo lovingly/ alternatively calls it, “Something To Listen To When You’re Falling Asleep At The Wheel In Carnudas, Texas.”

Listen above or go right here.